Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Jasper County

Jasper County

Jasper County is named for William Jasper, who was a Sergeant in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Newton County and Morgan County 

E – Putnam County

S – Jones County

W – Monroe County and Butts County 


Created:  December 10, 1807                Map of Georgia highlighting Jasper County

County Seat: 

Monticello  1807 – present


County Courthouse – Monticello 


Location:  126 West Greene Street / Warren Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  T F Lockwood, Sr. of Lockwood Brothers

Contractor:  W J Beeland


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on the north side of Courthouse Square in the center of Monticello. The south front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The recessed entrance is arched and there is a small balcony on the second story. A wide cornice runs below the roof line and a narrow horizontal band runs above the second story windows. On the center of the roof is a large octagonal dome with clock and gold colored roof. In the interior features include beautiful stained woodwork, a cast iron staircase leading to the second story County Superior Court courtroom and a stained glass skylight in the dome that can be seen from the main floor entrance foyer. There is a small courtroom. The courthouse houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was expanded in 1990 with an addition on the north side. The building was restored in 2003. The architect was Carter Watkins Associates of Monroe and the contractor was Price-Davis Construction of Atlanta.


See:  The contractor for the courthouse J W Beeland, also constructed the courthouse in adjoining Putnam County.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1897 and Monticello was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of John Towns. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1809. The second courthouse was a three story brick structure built in 1838. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1907 to 1908.



County Courthouse – Monticello



















County Superior Court courtroom

















County Superior Court small courtroom



















Photos taken 2013 and 2018