Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Jones County

Jones County

Jones County is named for James Jones, who was a United States Representative.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Jasper County and Putnam County

E – Baldwin County

S – Wilkinson County and Twiggs County

W – Bibb County and Monroe County


Created:  December 10, 1807                Map of Georgia highlighting Jones County

County Seat: 

Albany ( Clinton )  1807 – 1905

Gray                      1905 – present


County Courthouse – Gray


Location:  110 South Jefferson Street / West Clinton Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke & Company

Contractor:  Atlantic Fireproofing Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Gray. On either side of the east front are projecting sections which rise to peaks at the roof line. The building has turrets on the corners, a central three stage clock tower featuring an open belvedere, pyramidal cap and hooded clocks, and the whole has a hipped roof with intersecting gables. On the facade, two story pedimented pavilions frame a projecting one story enclosed entrance porch with a round arched entrance. On the second story the pavilions contain triple blind arcades separated by Corinthian pilasters. There is a one story section on the northeast corner which extends from the main building. In the interior, there is a cross plan with a central rotunda with metal ceiling. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the easy side of second story and originally had a metal ceiling. On the west side of the second story is a small courtroom. The County Probate Court courtroom is located on the south side of the first story in what was the original jail. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. On the south side is a three story buff colored brick addition constructed in 1976 to 1977 which houses the County Law Enforcement Center. The architect was Dunwoody and Company and the contractor was Warren and Associates, Inc. Repairs were completed in 2022 by Warren Associates, Inc.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia and the courthouse plan designed by James Wingfield Golucke & Company is similar to the courthouses in Baker County, Henry County, Schley County and Union County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Jones County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1807 and Albany (Clinton) was selected as the county seat. The court first met at the residence of William Jones in Albany ( Clinton ). The first courthouse was built and in 1816, the second courthouse was built. In 1905, the county seat was moved to Gray. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1906 to 1907 at a cost of $35,000.



County Courthouse – Gray

















County Superior Court courtroom













County Superior Court small courtroom







County Proibate Court courtroom







County Law Enforcement Center – Gray





Old Courthouse Bell 1906



Photos taken 2013, 2018 and 2024