Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Henry County

Henry County

Henry County is named for Patrick Henry, who was a patriot during the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– DeKalb County and Rockdale County

E – Newton County and Butts County

S – Spalding County

W – Clayton County 


Created:  May 15, 1821                          Map of Georgia highlighting Henry County

County Seat: 

McDonough  1821 – present


County Courthouse – McDonough 


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / Lawrenceville Street

Built:  1897 – 1898

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  J W Golucke & Stewart

Contractor:  Frank P Heifner


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of McDonough and faces onto McDonough Square. The building has a raised basement. The south front has a projecting large stone trimmed arch with recessed entrance at the center of the first story. On either side of the center section are projecting sections which rise to peaked roofs above the third story. Behind the center section rises a five story square clock tower with white colored brick and open section below the clock and steep roof. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story and has a pressed metal ceiling which is covered by acoustic tiles. There is a second courtroom. The building was reconstructed in 1980 to 1981. The architect was Nix, Mann & Associates, Inc. and the contractor was The Flager Company. The building was renovated in 2008. The architect was OJP Architects and the contractor was Headley Construction Corporation. On the west side is a modern two story red colored brick, glass and concrete addition constructed in 2000 to 2003. The roof line is flat with a small hipped section On the second story is a large County Superior Court courtroom. There is a second courtroom in the addition. The courthouse and addition house the County Superior Court of the 6th Judicial District.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia and the courthouse plan designed by James Wingfield Golucke & Company is similar to the courthouses in Baker CountyJones County, Schley County and Union County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Henry County Courthouse


County Judicial Center – McDonough 



Location:  44 John Frank Ward Boulevard / Lawrenceville Street

Built:  2004 – 2006

Style:  Modern

Architect:  PRAD Group

Contractor:  Ordner Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of McDonough to the east of the courthouse. The building is located on a slope with the first story at ground level on the north side. The south front has a projecting center section with three entrances on the second story. On the east and west sides of the front are projecting sections. There is a wide white colored band running below the roof line and vertical bands surround the building. The roof line is flat. In the interior there is a wide entrance lobby on the second story with stairs descending to the entrance lobby on the north side of the first story. The courthouse houses the County State Court, County Juvenile Court and Magistrate Court of the 6th Judicial District. 


County Probate Court Building – McDonough 



Location:  66 Sims Street / Lawrenceville Street

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unkown


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of McDonough to the northeast of the courthouse. The building was originally constructed as a library. In 2092, the building was converted for use by the Probate Court. The building is named as the George C Alexander Building. The building houses the County Probate Court of the 6th Judicial District.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Butts County, Carroll CountyClayton County, Coweta CountyFayette CountyHeard CountyLamar CountyMeriwether CountyMonroe CountyPike County, Spalding CountyTroup County and Upson County.


History:  The county was created in 1821 and McDonough was selected as the county seat. The first court met in the home of William Ruff. The first courthouse was built in 1823 and burned in the same year. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1831 and was located in the center of the Public Square with gallows on the north side. When the 1897 third courthouse was constructed, the building was located on the north side of the Public Square but there was not enough space to erect gallows behind the building, so the county had to rent space from the adjoining landowner. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1897 to 1898. The Judicial center was constructed in 2004 to 2006.



County Courthouse – McDonough 















County Superior Court courtroom













County Superior Court courtroom – addition















County Judicial Center – McDonough 














County Probate Court Building – McDonough





Photos taken 2013, 2018 and 2024