Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Coweta County

Coweta County

Coweta County is named for the Coweta Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carroll County and Fulton County

E – Fayette County and Spalding County

S – Meriweather County and Troup County

W – Heard County 


Created:  June 9, 1825                           Map of Georgia highlighting Coweta County

County Seat: 

Newnan  1828 – present


County Justice Center – Newnan 


Location:  72 Greenville Street / Powell Street

Built:  2006 – 2008

Style:  Modern Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Rosser International, Inc. and Gardner, Spencer, Smith, Tench & Hensley, PC

Contractor:  Choate Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Newnan to the south of the courthouse. The west front has a large portico supported by four high columns rising to the top of the second story with enclosed section on the third story. The first story windows are arched. Horizontal stone trim runs above the first story. The courtrooms are located on the third story. The building is the Coweta County Justice Center.


County Courthouse – Newnan



Location:  9 East Broad Street / Greenville Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta

Contractor:  R D Cole Manufacturing Company of Newnan


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Newnan. The east and west fronts have porches with four high columns. The north and south porches have two high columns. On the center of the roof is a large square cupola with dome roof, clock and small cupola at the top. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was remodeled in 1975. The architect was Hamilton and Burroughs. The building was renovated in 1989 to 1990. The building was renovated in 2005 and serves as the Probate Court and Visitor Center. The architect was Lord, Aeck & Sargent of Atlanta and the contractor was Headley Construction.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Coweta County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Butts County, Carroll CountyClayton County, Fayette CountyHeard CountyHenry CountyLamar CountyMeriwether CountyMonroe CountyPike County, Spalding CountyTroup County and Upson County.


History:  The county was created in 1825 and Newnan was selected as the county seat in 1828 when the county was organized. In 1825, James Caldwell’s house served as the first courthouse. The second courthouse was designed by William Hitchcock and built in 1828. The third courthouse was constructed in 1904 to 1905 at a cost of $56,998 and is still standing. The fourth and present County Justice Center was constructed in 2006 to 2008.



County Justice Center – Newnan















County Superior Court courtroom

















County Courthouse – Newnan



















County Superior Court courtroom





















Photos taken 2010, 2020 and 2024