Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Schley County

Schley County

Schley County is named for William Schley, who was a Governor of Georgia and a congressman.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Taylor County

E – Macon County and Sumter County

S – Sumter County

W – Marion County


Created:  December 22, 1857                Map of Georgia highlighting Schley County

County Seat: 

Ellaville  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Ellaville 


Location:  14 South Broad Street / Oglethorpe Street

Built:  1899 – 1900

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Golucke & Stewart

Contractor:  Algernon Blair


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ellaville. The east front has a small enclosed brick porch with arched entrance. On either side are large arched windows. The center section of the second story is recessed with projecting sections on either side rising to pointed roof lines. On the center of the roof is a large white colored brick clock tower with clock and steep roof at the top. The central two stage tower has an open belvedere and clock dormers set in a pyramidal cap. Round arched windows and rectangular windows are used on both the first and second story. A stringcourse divides the first and second stories. In the interior the first story has a cross plan design with small circular rotunda at the center. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story and has a pressed metal ceiling and balcony which are now covered by acoustic tile. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. To the west is the Old County Jail built in 1893.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia and the courthouse plan designed by James Wingfield Golucke & Company is similar to the courthouses in Baker CountyHenry CountyJones County and Union County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Schley County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMacon CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1857 and Ellaville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Ellaville in 1858. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1899 to 1900.



County Courthouse – Ellaville















County Superior Court courtroom







Old County Jail – Ellaville





Photos taken 2013