Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Chattahoochee County

Chattahoochee County

Chattahoochee County is named for the Chattahoochee River which name is derived from the Muskogean word meaning “rocks-marked” from “chat” meaning “rock” and “huchi” meaning “marked” and refers to the many colored granite outcroppings along the river.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Muscogee County and Talbot County 

E – Marion County

S – Stewart County

W – Barbour County, Alabama and  Russell County, Alabama 


Created:  February 13, 1854                  Map of Georgia highlighting Chattahoochee County

County Seat: 

Cusseta  1854 – present


County Courthouse – Cusseta 


Location:  329 Broad Street / Wells Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Biggers, Scarbrough, Neal, Crisp & Clark

Contractor:  J F King, Inc


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story light red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cusseta. The south front has a porch at the west side supported by four square brick pillars. The roof is pitched. In the interior, the County Superior Court courtroom is located in the center of the building. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The first section of the building was built in 1975 along the west side and later the building was expanded. On the hill to the northeast is the old County Jail built in 1902 by Pauly Jail and Manufacturing Company of St Louis, Missouri at a cost of $5,000.


See:  The old 1854 County Courthouse is now located at Columbus in  Muscogee County at the Histrict Westville Park.


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Crawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMacon CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1854 and Cusseta was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story white colored wood structure erected in 1854. The building was moved in 1974 to Westville near Lumpkin in Stewart County and then moved to Columbus in Muscogee County. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 and an adjoining office building in 1976.



County Courthouse – Cusseta













County Superior Court courtroom













Picture 1854 County Courthouse



Old County Jail – Cusseta









Photos taken 2010 and 2020