Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Harris County

Harris County

Harris County is named for Charles Harris, who was a noted lawyer and mayor of Savannah.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Troup County

E – Talbot County

S – Muscogee County 

W – Lee County, Alabama and Chambers County, Alabama 


Created:  December 14, 1827                Map of Georgia highlighting Harris County

County Seat: 

Hamilton  1827 – present


County Courthouse – Hamilton 


Location:  102 North College Street / Barnes Mill Road

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta

Contractor:  Mutual Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hamilton. The west front has a large portico with pressed metal ceilings supported by six large white colored Doric columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line with semi-circular window. There is a balcony on the second story. Rectangular windows with stone lintels surround the whole building. Corners of the building have colossal pilasters and a wide eave runs below the flat roof line. In the interior are plaster walls, asbestos tiles and terrazzo floors. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the west side of second story and has a plain judge’s bench and had an open balcony. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. An addition with raised basement was constructed on the east side in 1998. On the south side where the addition joins the courthouse, is a recessed entrance with large glass windows and large concrete dividers. The architect was JRA Architects Inc. and the contractor was DE/TE Builders, Inc.


See:  The architect, Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta, Georgia..


See: The contractor,  Mutual Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky, constructed courthouses in Florida in Baker CountyJefferson County, Lafayette County, Pasco County and Polk County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Harris County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMacon CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1827 and Hamilton was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure used until 1831 when the second courthouse was built. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1909.



County Courthouse – Hamilton

















County Superior Court courtroom















Photos taken 2010 and 2020