Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Florida » Pasco County

Pasco County

Pasco County is named for Samuel Pasco, who was a state legislator and a United States Senator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Hernando County

E – Sumter County and Polk County

S – Hillsborough County and Pinellas County

W – Gulf of Mexico 


Created:  June 2, 1887                           Map of Florida highlighting Pasco County

County Seat:

Dade City  1887 – present


County Courthouse – Dade City 


Location:  37918 Meridian Avenue / 7th Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta, Georgia

Contractor:  Mutual Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, stone  and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dade City. The portico at the north side has four large white colored Tuscan columns rising to a pediment. The porticos on the east and west sides have two large white colored columns rising to pediments. On the center of the roof is an octagonal dome with clock and white roof. In the interior, the floors on the first story are mosaic title. The three entrances lead into the central hallways that divide the building into quadrants, The walls are plaster finished. The stairs have the original metal tailing, newels and marble steps. The former County Circuit Court courtroom now used as the Commissioners Room is located in the central part of second story. The building was renovated in 1920, 1938, 1952, 1956, 1958 and 1961. During 1996 to 1998, the building was restored to the original 1920 structure. The architect was Rink Reynolds Diamond Fisher Architects and the contractor was Prelude Construction Company, Inc. and Costal Construction Services Inc.


See:  The architect, Edward Columbus Hosford of Atlanta, Georgia..


See: The contractor, Mutual Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky, constructed courthouses in Baker CountyJefferson County, Lafayette County and Polk County; and  in Georgia in Harris County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Pasco County Courthouse


County Judicial Center – Dade City 



Location:  38053 Live Oak Avenue / 4th Street

Built:  1977 – 1979

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Reynolds, Smith & Hills of Jacksonville

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces south and is a two story glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dade City to the northeast of the courthouse. The south front has a projecting concrete arch on the east side and large glass section on the west side. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and County Court. The building is named as the Robert D Sumner Judicial Center.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Pinellas County.


See:  The county is located in the Second Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – Second Judicial District located in Lakeland and Tampa.


County Government Center – Dade City 



Location:  14736  6th Street / Live Oak Avenue

Built:  1998 – 2000

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Heery International, Inc.

Contractor:  Batson-Cook Company


Description: The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Dade City to the north of the courthouse. The center section has an octagonal clock tower with green colored roof. On the north side of the tower, the main entrance has a recessed porch with four high columns. Further north, the building has a buff colored brick façade. The main façade is red colored brick. The building is named as the East Pasco Government Center.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Dade City was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by H W Coleman and W A Ferguson in 1887. The second courthouse was a wood frame structure built by James Lee and H C Griffin in 1890 to 1891 at a cost of $7,000. The courthouse was sold to R J McCutheon in 1909 for $500 and burned to the ground shortly after. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910 at a cost of $34,860. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 1977 to 1979. The County Government Center was constructed in 1998 to 2000.


Other Branch Courthouses


New Port Richey



County Courthouse – Dade City



















Commissioners Meeting Room ( former courtroom )













County Government Center – Dade City











County Judicial Center – Dade City















County Circuit Court courtroom









Photos taken 2009 and 2023