Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Macon County

Macon County

Macon County is named for Nathaniel Macon, who was a United States legislator from North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Taylor County and Peach County

E – Houston County and Dooly County 

S – Sumter County

W – Schley County and Taylor County


Created:  December 14, 1837                Map of Georgia highlighting Macon County

County Seat: 

Lanier         1837 – 1856

Oglethorpe  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Oglethorpe


Location:  121 South Sumter Street / Chatham Street

Built:  1894 – 1895

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Walter Chamberlin of Knoxville, Tennessee

Contractor:  Wagner & Gorenflo


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Oglethorpe. The southwest front has a central one story porch with four columns rising to a balcony on the second story. On the second story is a large central window. Square brick towers flank the central entrance and rise above the roof line. On each corner of the building are square towers with steep roofs. On the center of the roof is a large white colored cupola with open belfry and clock, and white colored dome above. In the interior are double stairways lead to the County Superior Court courtroom on the second story. The ceiling has been lowered and acoustic tile installed. The Victorian wooden bench is the most outstanding feature of the courtroom with a free-standing wood screen located behind the bench. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The superintendents of construction were S T Lofley and C A Greer. The building was renovated in 1976 using prison labor. The building was renovated in 1994. The architect was W Lane Greene and the contractor was Daniel Construction Company. To the northeast is the County Courthouse Annex at 100 Macon Street which houses the County Magistrate Court.


See:  Walter Chamberlin of Knoxville, Tennessee used the similar design for the courthouses at Berrien County and Gibson County, Tennessee.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Macon County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Bibb County, Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Lanier was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Lanier in 1837 and the building burned in 1857. The county seat was moved to Oglethorpe in 1856 and the second courthouse was built in 1858. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 to 1895.



County Courthouse – Oglethorpe 











County Superior Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2013 and 2018