Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Bibb County

Bibb County

Bibb County is named for Nathaniel Macon, who was a former United States Speaker of the House of Representatives and a Senator from North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Monroe County  and Jones County

E – Twiggs County

S – Houston County and Peach County

W – Crawford County


Created:  December 9, 1822                  Map of Georgia highlighting Bibb County

County Seat: 

Macon  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Macon 


Location:  601 Mulberry Street / 2nd Street

Built:  1870 – 1871

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Gurdon Paine Randall of Chicago

Contractor:  George S Herbard


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story red colored brick, concrete and stone structure. The building is located in the center of Macon. The east front has an arched entrance on the first story with four columns rising from the second story to the third story with windows between. A horizontal band runs between the first and second stories and between the third and fourth stories where a cornice projects from the building. On the center of the roof is a dome with green colored roof. In the interior, the floors are marble and there is a grand staircase. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Probate Court and County Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The building was named as the J Taylor Phillips Bibb County Courthouse. During construction the superintendent was Jere Fuss. In 1922 to 1924, the building was reconstructed. The architect was Curran R Ellis and contractor was Southern Ferro Concrete Company. During construction, the superintendent was L R Samford. In 1926, the fourth story was added to house the jail. In 1940, the building was remodeled under the Works Project Administration. The modern addition on the west side was constructed in 1979. The architect was Britain, Thompson, Olson & Bray of Macon and the contractor was Amerson Construction Company of Macon.


See:  The architect, Gurdon Paine Randall of Chicago also designed the courthouses in Illinois in Montgomery County and Morgan Countyin Indiana in Benton County and Marshall Countyand in Michigan in Menominee County


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Chattahoochee CountyCrawford CountyHarris CountyHouston CountyLee CountyMacon CountyMarion CountyMuscogee CountyPeach CountySchley CountyStewart CountySumter CountyTalbot CountyTaylor County and Webster County. 


Note:  The County Courthouse Downtown Annex at 111 Third Street and Riverside Drive is being renovated to accomodate two courtrooms in 2023. The architect was Britain, Thompson, Olson & Bray of Macon and the contractor was Warren Associates. The County Juvenile Justice Center is located at 560 Ogelthorpe Street.


History:  The county was created in 1822 and Macon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one room building built in 1825. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1828. The third courthouse was a three story structure constructed in 1870. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1924 as a reconstruction of the third courthouse.



County Courthouse – Macon

















County Superior Court small courtroom











County Superior Court courtroom













Photos taken 2013 and 2018