Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Michigan » Iosco County

Iosco County

Iosco County is named for the Native American word meaning “water of light”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Alcona County

E – Lake Huron and Ontario, Ontario

S – Arenac County

W – Ogemaw County


Created:  April 1, 1840                            Map of Michigan highlighting Iosco County

County Seat:

Tawas City  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Tawas City  


Location:  422 Lake Street / 1st Street

Built:  1952 – 1954

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Joseph C Goddeyne of Bay City

Contractor:  Arthur Vollmer Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a one story stone, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tawas City. The building has stone facing and has a flat roof line. The entrance is located in the center of the east side and is recessed with glass doors. On the northeast side the roof is slightly raised. In the interior, the courtroom has a high ceiling. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 23rd Judicial District, County District Court and County Probate Court. 


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Alcona County, Arenac County and Oscoda County.


History:  The county was created in 1840 as Kanotin County as the name was changed to Iosco County in 1843. Ottawa Bay was selected as the county seat in 1857 when the county was organized. The county seat name was changed to Tawas City. In 1863, construction of the first courthouse, a wooden structure was started but was not finished until 1869 at a cost of $18,000. From 1891 to 1895, the court also sat at the O’Toole Block in Au Sable. The second and present courthouse was constructed in1952 to 1954 at a cost of $250,000.


See:  Michigan’s County Courthouses by John Fedynsky



County Courthpuse – Travas City









Photos taken 2008