Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Candler County

Candler County

Candler County is named for Allen Daniel Candler, who was the fifty-ninth governor of Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Emanuel County and Bulloch County

E – Bulloch County

S – Evan County and Tattnall County

W – Emanuel County


Created:  July 14, 1914                          Map of Georgia highlighting Candler County

County Seat: 

Metter  1914 – present


County Courthouse – Metter 


Location:  705   North Lewis Street / South Roundtree Street

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  James J Baldwin

Contractor:  King Lumber Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete style structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on spacious landscaped grounds of the Town Square in the center of Metter. The north front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to the pediment at the roof line. An oculus is in the pediment. All four entries remain open and have new steel and glass doors. Above each is a bracketed, broken pediment with a center cartouche. There is projecting section above the entrance. A horizontal white colored band runs above the second story windows. On the center of the roof is a high square cupola with clock. The roof is hipped. In the interior is a cross plan with small rotunda. Two staircases lead to the second story. Double, frosted glass and wooden doors open into the County Superior Court courtroom from each side. The courtroom has been recently repainted in three shades of green. Pilasters are on three sides of the room; the original bench is flanked by pilasters and a heavy pediment. The ceiling has three deeply recessed areas; one originally was open so that light from the dome shone into the courtroom. Vertical beaded board wainscoting surrounds the room. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. 


See: The architect, James J Baldwin also designed courthouses in Atkinson CountyBacon CountyBarrow County, Evans County, Lee County, Liberty County and Treutlen Countyand in North Carolina in Cherokee County.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in the county.



County Courthouse – Metter













County Superior Court courtroom

















County Superior Court small courtroom









Photos taken 2008, 2018 and 2020