Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Toombs County

Toombs County

Toombs County is named for Robert Toombs, who was a famous politician, an unreconstructed secessionist, United States Representative and United States Senator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Treutlen County and Emanuel County

E – Tattnall County

S – Appling County and Jeff Davis County

W – Montgomery County


Created:  August 18, 1905                     Map of Georgia highlighting Toombs County

County Seat: 

Lyons  1905 – present


County Courthouse – Lyons


Location:  Victory Drive

Built:  2021 – 2023

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hussey Gay Bell

Contractor:  TQ Contractors of Metter


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lyon on the west side of rge former courthouse. The first story has white colored stone facing. The center section on the east front projects and has two columns on the second to third stories with recessed windows. On the center of the roof is an octagonal silver colored dome. In the interior are four courtrooms. The building houses the Superior Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District.


Former County Courthouse ( demolished ) – Lyons



Location:  100 Courthouse Square / NW Broad Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  W P Thompson, Jr.

Contractor:  Scott-Robinson Company


Description:  The building faced south and was a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building was located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lyons to the east of the present courthouse. The building formed a “U” shape with an east and west wing. The building had a row of windows with vertical white colored dividers in the center section. On the west side was a higher section with long narrow windows and contained the courtroom. The building had a sloped roof. The courthouse was torn down in 2024 and the site will form part of a park area. 


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1905 and Lyons was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was designed by George C Thomason and J W Golucke and built in 1906. The building was destroyed by fire in 1917 and was rebuilt in 1919 as the second courthouse. The architect was Alexander Blair and the contractor was Little & Phillips. The third courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965 and was torn down in 2024. The fourth and present courthouse is under construction at a cost of $35,000,000.



County Courthouse – Lyons

















County Superior Court courtroom



















County Superior Court courtroom









Former County Courthouse ( demolished ) – Lyons

















Former County Superior Court courtroom



















Cornerstone 1906 County Courthouse



Photos taken 2008, 2020 and 2024