Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Morgan County

Morgan County

Morgan County is named for Daniel Morgan, who was general during the American Revolutionary War and a congressman from Virginia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Walton County and Oconee County 

E – Greene County

S – Putnam County 

W – Jasper County and Walton County


Created:  December 10, 1807                Map of Georgia highlighting Morgan County

County Seat: 

Madison  1807 – present


County Courthouse – Madison 


Location:  384 Hancock Street / East Jefferson Street

Built:  1904 – 1905

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival and Beaux Arts

Architect:  James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta

Contractor:  Winder Lumber Company and William De Cavin


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Madison. The southwest front has a large porch with four high columns supporting a balcony on the second story and rising to a wide header with pediment above the roof line. On the second story are three large arched windows. A wide cornice runs below the roof line. Behind the pediment is a large square white colored clock tower with clock, black colored dome and lantern at the top. In the interior the building is beautifully decorated with dark wood stairs and trim and wood floors. On the story is an entrance lobby and a small County Superior Court courtroom at the northeast corner. On the second story is a wide corridor with the large County Superior Court courtroom on the north side. The courtroom has a high ceiling, dark wood decoration and dark wood stairs ascending to a gallery along the rear. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was renovated from 2005 to 2007. On the north side is the old jail constructed in 1895 and the one story red colored brick Court Clerk’s Office.


See:  The architect, James Wingfield Golucke of Atlanta designed many courthouses and jails in Georgia.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Madison was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built on the square in 1809. The second courthouse was built in 1845 and was destroyed by fire in 1916. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1904 to 1905.



County Courthouse – Madison























County Superior Court small courtroom



















County Superior Court courtroom
























Old County Jail – Madison







Photos taken 2013, 2015, 2018 and 2024