Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Pulaski County

Pulaski County

Pulaski County is named for Casimir Pulaski, who was a Revolutionary War soldier killed at the Battle of Savannah, and who lived from 1746 to 1779.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Houston County and Bleckley County

E – Dodge County

S – Wilcox County

W – Dooly County and Houston County


Created:  December 13, 1808                Map of Georgia highlighting Pulaski County

County Seat: 

Hartford         1808 – 1836                     

Hawkinsville  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Hawkinsville


Location:  350 Commerce Street / South Lumpkin Street

Built:  1897 – 1898

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  A J Bryan & Company

Contractor:  Wagner & Gorenflo


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored stucco over brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hawinsville. The north front has a large portico with four high columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The entrance is framed with small pediment above. On the roof is a large platform with octagonal cupola with clock and black colored dome. In the interior. The ceilings have been lowered and acoustical tile added. An unusual feature of the interior is a small chapel outside the County Superior Court courtroom on the second story. It has a cross cut into the door, a lectern with Bible, four pews and is used locally for weddings, prayer groups. The courtroom on the second story has white colored wood furnishings and a galley at the rear. There is a high ceiling. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. An addition was constructed in 1910. The building was renovated in 2000 to 2001. The architect was Brittain, Thompson, Bray, Brown, Inc. of Macon and the contractor was C E Garbutt Construction of Dublin.


See: The architect,  Andrew J Bryan, designed the courthouses in Alabama in Coffee County, Lee County and Monroe County; in Georgia in Colquitt County and Stewart County; in Kentucky in Bracken Couinty and Mercer County; in Louisiana in Pointe Coupee Parish;  in Mississippi in Attala County and Simpson County; and in Texas in Rains County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Pulaski County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1808 and Hartford was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Hartford in 1812. The county seat was moved to Hawkinsville in 1836 and the courthouse was moved across the Ocmlgee River to the new town square. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure in 1874. The courthouse was changed in 1897 with a new façade becoming the third and present courthouse.


County Administration Building – Hawkinsville



Location:  105 South Lumpkin Street / Broad Street

Built:  1987 – 1988

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Heart of Georgia APD

Contractor:  G E Peterson & Associates, Inc. of Albany


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story buff colored stucco structure. The building is located in the center of Hawkinsville. There is a central entrance along the east front. The roof line is flat. The building is the Community Services Center.



County Courthouse – Hawkinsville



















County Superior Court courtroom





















County Administration Building – Hawkinsville





Photos taken 2013, 2018 and 2024