Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Attala County

Attala County

Attala County is named for the Indian heroine “Attala”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carroll CountyMontgomery County and Choctaw County

E – Choctaw County and Winston County 

S – Leake County and Madison County

W – Holmes County and Carroll County


Created:  December 23, 1833                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Attala County

County Seat: 

Kosciusko  1833 – present


County Courthouse – Kosciusko 


Location:  230 West Washington Street / Madison Street

Built:  1897

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Andrew J Bryan & Company

Contractor:  Lindamood & Puckett


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The building is located on Courthouse Square in the center of Kosciusko. The north front has a large portico with four large columns rising to a header at the roof line. The central entrance has a small pediment above. The east and west wings extend from the main building. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with clock and round cupola with green colored dome at the top. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the entrances on the north, south and west sides lead into corridors extending to a central circular junction. The first story floors are marble. There are stairwells in the east and west corridors. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the south side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial District and the County Justice Court. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Attala County Courthouse


See: The architect,  Andrew J Bryan, designed the courthouses in Alabama  in Coffee County, Lee County and Monroe County; in Georgia in Colquitt County, Pulaski County and Stewart County; in Kentucky in Bracken Couinty and Mercer County; in Louisiana in Pointe Coupee Parish;  in Mississippi in Simpson County; and in Texas in Rains County.

See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Carroll CountyChoctaw CountyGrenada CountyMontgomery CountyWebster County and Winston County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Kosciusko was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1837. The courthouse burned in 1858 and the Methodist Church became the second courthouse. The church burned in 1860 and the third courthouse was a two story brick structure built by the town in 1861 at a cost of $20,000. The courthouse also burned in 1896. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1897.



County Courthouse – Kosciusko



















County Circuit Court courtroom











Picture 1861 County Courthouse 

Photos taken 2012 and 2017