Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Leake County

Leake County

Leake County is named for Walter Leake, who was the third Governor of the State of Mississippi.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Attala County

E – Neshoba County

S – Scott County

W – Madison County and Attala County


Created:  December 23, 1833                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Leake County

County Seat: 

Carthage  1833 – present


County Courthouse – Carthage 


Location:  212 West Main Street / Pearl Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Art Deco and Neo-Classical

Architect:  E L Malvaney of Jackson

Contractor:  J R Flint Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff-brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carthage. The south front has a framed central entrance. Vertical pilasters rise to a wide band below the roof line. Above the entrance are large windows on the second and third stories. On the north side, the building has vertical white pilasters between the large windows. The roof line is flat. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 8th Judicial District, County Chancery, County Youth Court and County Justice Court. In 1976, the building was renovated. The architect was Charles P McMullan & Associates of Jackson and the contractor was W G Yates & Sons Construction Company, Inc. of Philadelphia.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Neshoba CountyNewton County and Scott County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Carthage was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a pine pole structure built by J M Hooper in 18364. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1877. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1935 to 1936.



County Courthouse – Carthage











County Circuit Court courtroom











Photos taken 2012 and 2017