Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Newton County

Newton County

Newton County is named for Isaac Newton, who was an English physicist, mathematician, astronomer, natural philosopher, alchemist and theologian.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Neshoba County

E – Lauderdale County

S – Jasper County

W – Scott County


Created:  February 25, 1836                                                      Map of Mississippi highlighting Newton County

County Seat: 

Decatur  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Decatur 


Location:  92 West Broad Street / 4th Avenue

Built:  1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Charles P McMullan & Associates of Jackson

Contractor:  Tatum Concrete Company, Inc. of Newton


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Decatur. The north front has a large porch with recessed entrance and supported by six columns rising to the flat roof overhang. Along the sides are vertical white colored concrete dividers. The rear section of the building extends from the main building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, t County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building house the County Circuit Court of the 8th Judicial District, County Chancery Court and County Youth Court. On the south east side is the County Courthouse Annex which was the County Agricultural Building renovated in 1999.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Leake County, Neshoba County and Scott County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Decatur was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure erected in 1836. The second courthouse was a frame structure built in 1840. The courthouse burned in 1845 and was reconstructed. The courthouse was destroyed in 1864 during the Civil War. The third courthouse was a frame structure built which burned in September 1876. The fourth courthouse was a two story brick structure built by Mr. Scully of Meridian in 1877 at a cost of $7,000. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in February 1911. The fifth courthouse was a two story structure designed by P J Krouse and built by G H Dabbs & Company in 1912. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1972.



County Courthouse – Decatur















County Circuit Court courtroom

















County Courthouse Annex – Decatur



Photos taken 2012 and 2017