Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Carroll County

Carroll County

Carroll County is named for Charles Carroll, who was a signer of the United States Declaration of Independence.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grenada County

E – Montgomery County and Attalia County

S – Holmes County

W – Leflore County 


Created:  December 23, 1833                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Carroll County

County Seat: 

Carrollton  1833 – present    ( First Judicial District )

Vaiden       1873 – present    ( Second Judicial District )

* Carroll County has two county seats


County Courthouse – Carrollton 


Location:  600 Lexington Street / Washington Street

Built:  1878 – 1879

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  James Clark Harris

Contractor:  T W Parker and A Lamour


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story gray-white colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carrollton.The west front has a central entrance on the first story with fanlight above. The first story is open on three sides. On the center of the roof is a square white colored wood cupola with dome. The large courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the 1st District County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial District, the County Chancery Court and the County Youth Court. On the east side of the building is a one story addition. The building was renovated in 1979. The architect was Godfrey, Bassett & Tuminello. The building was restored in 1992. The architect was Clemmer & Clark and the contractor was Bounds Construction Company, Inc.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Attalia County, Choctaw CountyGrenada CountyMontgomery CountyWebster County and Winston County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Carrollton was selrcted as the county seat. The first court met at the home of William Miller in Carrollton. The first courthouse was built shortly after 1834 and burned in 1878. The second and present courthouse was built in 1878 to 1879 in Carrollton.


County Courthouse – Vaiden



Location:  411 Front Street / Mulberry Street

Built:  1988 – 1989

Style:  Modern

Architect:  McRee Dardaman and Jones

Contractor:  Crowson Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Vaiden. The east front has a south section with brick exterior and sloped roof adjoining a vertical square clock tower with large clock at the top. On the north side of the tower is an arched porch with the main entrance. The middle and north sections of the building have glass walls and a sloped roof. The courtroom is located on the south side of the building. The building houses the 2nd District County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial District, the County Chancery Court, the County Youth Court and the County Justice Court.


History:  Vaiden became the second county seat in 1873. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure known as the Haman Memorial Building built in 1874. The second courthouse was a two story structure designed by Patrick H Weathers and constructed by M T Lewman & Company in 1905. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1988 to 1989.



County Courthouse – Carrollton

















County Courthouse – Vaiden















Photos taken 2012 and 2019