Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Choctaw County

Choctaw County

Choctaw County is named for the Choctaw Native American tribe and the word means “separation”.         


Surrounding County Courthouses: 


N – Webster County

E – Oktibbeha County and Winston County

S – Winston County and Attalia County

W – Attalia County and Montgomery County


Created:  December 23, 1833                                                    Map of Mississippi highlighting Choctaw County

County Seat: 

Greensboro ( Webster )  1833 – 1872

La Grange                       1872 – 1874

Chester                            1874 – 1923 ( consolidated )

Ackerman                        1887 – present


County Courthouse – Ackerman


Location:  511 South Louisville Street / Quinn Street

Built:  1941

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Noah Webster Overstreet of Jackson

Contractor:  J F Lee and F D Alford ( supervisors )


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored stucco and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Ackerman. The center section has a central entrance with eagle over the doorway. The east and west wings are slightly recessed and are lower in height. The roof line is flat. This is a Works Project Administration project. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located in the center of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial District, County Chancery Court, County Youth Court and County Justice Court. The construction supervisors were J F Lee and F D Alford. On the south side is the old County Jail.


Note:  The construction of the courthouse was a Works Project Administration project which hired local labor and local trades to do the construction. The construction superintendents were J F Lee and F D Alford..


See:  The architect, Noah Webster Overstreet of Jackson, also designed courthouses in Alcorn CountyBolivar CountyFranklin CountyPontotoc CountyPrentiss CountyRankin CountyTippah County and Webster County.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Attalia County, Carroll CountyGrenada CountyMontgomery CountyWebster County and Winston County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Greensboro was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a brick structure built at Greensboro. The second courthouse was built in La Grange in 1872. The building was burned January 12, 1874. The county seat was moved to Chester and the third courthouse was a wood frame structure built. The building burned in 1880 and was replaced by the fourth courthouse built of Choctaw clay. The county seat was moved to Ackerman in 1887 and the fifth courthouse was built. Chester continued as the second county seat until 1923 and the courthouse became a school. The building burned in 1928. The sixth courthouse was designed by W Chamberlin & Company and constructed in Ackerman by Chamberlin & Williams in 1897. The seventh and present courthouse was constructed in 1941.


County Courthouse – Ackerman



















County Circuit Court courtroom









Old County Jail – Ackerman



Photos taken 2012, 2017 and 2019