Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Holmes County

Holmes County

Holmes County is named for David Holmes, who was the last Governor of the Mississippi Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Leflore County and Carroll County

E – Attalia County

S – Madison County and Yazoo County

W – Humphreys County and Leflore County 


Created:  February 19, 1833                                                      Map of Mississippi highlighting Holmes County

County Seat: 

Lexington  1833 – present


County Courthouse – Lexington 


Location:  200 Court Square / Spring Street

Built:  1894

Style:  Romanesque and the Queen Anne

Architect:  Walter Chamberlain and Company Architects of Knoxville, Tennessee

Contractor:  R Jesty and Company of Winona


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building sits on landscaped grounds in the center of the Public Square in the center of Lexington. The east front has a small porch at the central entrance on the first story. A square brick tower rises on either side of the entrance and rise above the roof line. Each corner has a large square tower with steep roof. On the center of the roof is a large cupola with open section, clock and atop is a polygonal dome capped by a lantern and weathervane. The roof is hipped. In the interior, there is a north-south corridor on the first story. The floor of the corridor is marble laid in a diamond pattern. The wooden stairway is located in the south west corner and consists of a simple molded handrail, decorative balustrade and simple square newel with tapered top. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located in the center of the second story. The building houses the County Chancery Court, County Youth Court and County Justice Court. The building was restored and remodeled in 1976. The architect was Godfrey, Bassett, Pitts and Tuminello. On the east side is the County Records Building which is an Art Deco structure constructed in 1930.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Holmes County Courthouse


County Circuit Court Courthouse – Lexington 


Location:  2254 Depot Road / Andrews Street

Built:  2011 – 2013

Style:  Modern Colonial

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lexington to the east of the courthouse. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 21st Judicial District. 


See:  The 21st Judicial District includes Humphreys County and Yazoo County.


History:  The county was created in 1833 and Lexington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built after 1833. The second courthouse was a brick structure designed by William Nichols. The courthouse burned in 1893. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1894 at a cost of $25,000. The Circuit Court Courthouse was constructed in 2011 to 2013.



County Courthouse – Lexington



















County Circuit Court courtroom









County Records Building – Lexington









Photos taken 2012 and 2019