Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Coffee County

Coffee County


Coffee County is named for John Coffee, who was a general who fought in the Creek War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Pike County

E – Dale County

S – Geneva County

W – Covington County and Crenshaw County


Created:  December 29, 1841                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Coffee County

County Seat:

Welborn  1841 – 1852

Elba        1852 – present


County Courthouse – Elba


Location:  230 Court Avenue / Simmons Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Andrew J Bryan

Contractor:  M T Lewman & Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces west and  is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Elba. The west front has a large arch with recessed entrance. Above the entrance is a balcony with arched doorway on the second story. Above rises a square brick clock tower with clock and steep roof. On either side of the entrance are round towers with conical roofs. The windows on the second story are arched. In the interior, the large County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the center of the second story and the County District Court courtroom is located on the south side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 12tht Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court.


See: The architect,  Andrew J Bryan, designed the courthouse in Lee County and Monroe County; in Georgia in Colquitt County, Pulaski County and Stewart County; in Kentucky in Bracken Couinty and Mercer County; in Louisiana in Pointe Coupee Parish;  in Mississippi in Attala County and Simpson County; and in Texas in Rains County.


See:  The contractor M T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


See: National Register of Historic Places – Coffee County Courthouse


See:  The 12th Judicial Circuit includes Pike County.


History:  The county was created in 1841 and Welborn was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in Welborn in 1841. The courthouse burned in 1851 and the county seat was moved to Elba in 1853. The second courthouse was built in 1858 but it was burned in 1863 during the Civil War. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1905. The county was divided in 1907 and the first courthouses in Enterprise burned. The second courthouse was built in 1916 and it also burned. The third courthouse was built in 1925. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1998 to 1998.


County Consolidated Office Complex – New Brockton



Location:  1065 East McKinnon Avenue / Byrd Mill Road

Built:  1971 – 1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Joseph L Donofro

Contractor:  Lewis and Faulkner Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the southeast of the center of New Brockton. The building is named as the Consolidated Office Complex. 


Other Branch Courthouses





County Courthouse – Elba

















County Circuit Court courtroom

























County District Court courtroom













County Consolidated Office Complex – New Brockton





Photos taken 2009, 2020 and 2023