Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Washington County

Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Hancock County

E – Glascock County and  Jefferson County 

S – Johnson County

W – Wilkinson County and Baldwin County


Created:  February 25, 1784                  Map of Georgia highlighting Washington County

County Seat: 

Warthen        1784 – 1796

Sandersville  1796 – present


County Courthouse – Sandersville


Location:  132 West Haynes Street / Harris Street

Built:  1868 – 1869

Style:  High Victorian with Second Empire clock tower

Architect:  Greene Brantley and J. W. Renfroe

Contractor:  Greene Brantley and J. W. Renfroe


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Sandersville.. The south front has a large arch on the first story with recessed entrance. Above the arch rises a square brick clock tower with clock and black colored dome at the top. On the west side is a three story section with central dormer and on the east side is a two story section. There is stone trim on the building. The roof is hipped. In the interior is wood paneling. The ceilings have been lowered in the offices and County Superior Court courtroom. The building houses the County Superior Court, County State Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. An addition was built in 1899. The architect was Lewis F Goodrich and the contractor was J H McKenzie & Sons. Another two story red colored brick addition was built in 1938 on the west side with square brick cupola at the east end. The architect was L H Ledford and the contractor was H L McCaskill. The building was renovated in 1970 to 1973 and in 1987.


Note:  The cost of construction in 1868 was $22,000.. The bell tower was constructed in 1899 and the bell bears the inscription “Buck Eye Bell Foundry 1899” The bell was used as a fire bell.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Washington County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly CountyEmanuel CountyGreene CountyHancock CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1764 and Warthen was selected as the county seat. The first court met in private homes until the first courthouse, a log cabin, was built in Warthen after 1784. In 1796 the county seat was moved to Sandersville and the second courthouse was built. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1855. The third courthouse was a brick structure was built in 1856 and was burned during the Civil War. Court was held in a store and the fourth and current courthouse was constructed in 1868 to 1869.



County Courthouse – Sandersville





















County Superior Court courtroom











Photos taken 2013 and 2018