Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Hancock County

Hancock County

Hancock County is named for John Hancock, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1737 to 1793.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Greene County and Tailaferrio County

E – Warren County and Glascock County

S – Washington County and Baldwin County

W – Baldwin County and Putnam County


Created:  December 17, 1793                Map of Georgia highlighting Hancock County

County Seat: 

Sparta  1793 – present


County Courthouse – Sparta 


Location:  40 Courthouse Square / Broad Street

Built:  1881 – 1882

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Parkins and Bruce

Contractor:  James Smith and Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and stone  structure. The building is located on Courthouse Square in the center of Sparta. The north front has a wide porch on the first story with central entrance. On the second story are three high arched windows with a smaller arched window at each corner. At the roof line is a pediment with wide cornice below. On the center of the roof is a large square white colored cupola with clock and steep roof at the top. The building has a mansard roof. In the interior are wood floors and stairs. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate Court and Magistrate Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building was restored in the 1970’s. The building was damaged by fire on November 11, 2014 and was rebuilt by 2016. The architect was Carter Watkins Associates Architects Inc. of Monroe and the contractor was J W Spratlin and Sons Construction of Lincolnton.


Note:  A fire on August 11, 2014 destroyed the building.  The building was originally constructed to allow the center timbers to fall inwards during a fire, allowing the outer walls to remain standing. The building was rebuilt using the original walls. The architect is Carter Watkins Associates Architects Inc. of Monroe and the contractor is J W Spratlin and Sons Construction of Lincolnton. The cost for reconstruction is $6,600,000.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Baldwin CountyBen Hill CountyBleckley CountyCandler CountyCrisp CountyDodge CountyDooly County, Emanuel CountyGreene CountyJasper CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJones CountyLaurens CountyMontgomery CountyMorgan CountyPulaski CountyPutnam CountyTelfair CountyToombs CountyTreutlen CountyTwiggs CountyWashington CountyWheeler CountyWilcox County and Wilkinson County 


History:  The county was created in 1793 and Sparta was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1793 was a wood building known as Four Mile Store. The second courthouse was a wood structure built in Sparta. The third courthouse was a brick structure built on the Courthouse Square in the 1800’s. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1881 to 1883 and suffered fire damage in 2014. During the rebuilding from 2014 to 2016, Oconee Fall Line Teachers College in Sandersville served as the temporary courthouse.



County Courthouse before the fire in 2014 – Sparta















County Courthouse rebuilt – Sparta











County Superior Court courtroom











Photos taken 2013 and 2018