Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Warren County

Warren County

Warren County is named for Joseph Warren, who was a general in the American revolutionary War and who was killed at the Battle of Bunker Hill.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Taliaferro Couny and Wilkes County

E – McDuffie County

S – Jefferson County and Glascock County

W – Hancock County


Created:  December 19, 1793                Map of Georgia highlighting Warren County

County Seat: 

John McCormick Home    1793 – 1796

Sterling Gardner Home     1796 – 1797

Warrenton                         1797 – present


County Courthouse – Warrenton


Location:  100 Main Street / West Gibson Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Walter Chamberlin of Knoxville, Tennessee

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Warrenton. The building has a large portico in the center with four large white columns rising to a header at the roof line. Vertical concrete bands are spaced along the north front. A wide white horizontal band runs below the eaves. On the center of the roof is a short octagonal dome with windows. The courtroom is located at the center of the second story. The building was renovated in 1999 to 2000 with architects Britain, Thompson, Bray & Brown and the contractor was Two State Construction Company.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Warren County Courthouse


See:  The 10th Judicial District includes Banks CountyBarrow County, Burke CountyClarke CountyColumbia CountyElbert CountyFranklin CountyGlascock CountyHart CountyJackson CountyLincoln CountyMadison CountyMcDuffie CountyNewton CountyOconee County, Oglethorpe CountyRichmond CountyTaliaferro CountyWalton County and Wilkes County.


History:  The county was created in 1793 and James McCormick’s home was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of James McCormick and the home of Sterling Gardner.  The first courthouse was built in Warrenton in 1809. The second courthouse was built in 1820 and was destroyed by fire in 1909. The third courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911.



County Courthouse – Warrenton













County Superior Court courtroom















Photos taken 2008 and 2020