Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Fayette County

Fayette County


Fayette County is named for Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette, who was a French general and politician and who fought in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marion County

E – Walker County

S – Tuscaloosa County and Pickens County

W – Lamar County


Created:  December 20, 1824                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Fayette County

County Seat:

Fayette  1824 – present


County Courthouse – Fayette


Location:  113 Temple Avenue North / Columbus Street West

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  J E Wilbanks

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story yellow colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Fayette. The east front has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a pediment. Behind the pediment, the center section rises above the roof line with two gold colored domes at each end. The corners of the building project slightly and rise to pediments. On the center of the roof is a large square white dome with gold colored roof containing a clock and with small cupola at the top. During construction, J E Wilbank was the superintendent as well as the architect. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County District Court of the 24th Judicial District.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Jackson County and Limestone Countyin Georgia in Bleckley County, Clarke County, Lincoln County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Franklin County, Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County


See:  The courthouse in Union County, Mississippi is similar in design but had a different architect.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Fayette Courthouse District


See:  The 24th Judicial Circuit includes Lamar County and Pickens County.


History: The county was created in 1824 and Fayetteville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built at Haley’s Creek in 1824. The second courthouse was built in 1826 and burned in 1866. The third courthouse built in 1866 burned in 1911. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1912.


County Office Building – Fayette



Location:  118 First Avenue NW / Columbus Street West

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Charles H McCauley Associates

Contractor:  Renfroe Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story yellow colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular building is located in the center of Fayette to the west of the courthouse and has an entrance at south side of the east front and at the north side. Above the entrances are glass panels. There is a recessed rectangular section on the north side. The roof line is flat. The building also houses the jail.



County Courthouse – Fayette















County Office Building – Fayette



Photos taken 2010 and 2018