Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Union County

Union County

Union County is named for the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Benton County and Tippah County

E – Prentiss County and Lee County

S – Pontotoc County

W – Lafayette County and Marshall County


Created:  July 7, 1870                                                                Map of Mississippi highlighting Union County

County Seat: 

New Albany  1870 – present


County Courthouse – New Albany 


Location:  116 Bankhead Street East / Camp Avenue

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Classical Revival and Beaux Arts

Architect:  H E Ostling of Montgomery, Alabama

Contractor:  F E Dobson & Company


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story golden tanf colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of New Albany. The northeast front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. Behind the portico on either side, are square towers rising above the roof line and having low domes. There are similar but narrower porticos on each side of the building. On each corner of the building are projecting pavilions rising to pediments at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square green colored metal dome with clock and lantern with golden eagle at the top. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the large County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District and County Youth Court. The building was renovated in 1994. The architect was George A Thomason and the contractor was Vanderheyden Construction Company. The building was further renovated in 2005. The architect was George A Thomason of Mount Olive and the contractor was Griffin Classic Builders, Inc. of Ripley. On the south side is the County Jail constructed in 1939. On the southwest side is the County Jail constructed in 1939 and an annex housing the County Chancery Court.


See: The courthouse in Fayette County, Alabama is similar in design but had a different architect.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Union County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Benton CountyCalhoun CountyChickasaw CountyLafayette CountyMarshall County and Tippah County.


History:  The county was created in 1870 and New Albany was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1870. The second courthouse was brick structure built in 1872. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1881. The third courthouse was designed by Alfred Zucjer and constructed by Zukor & Company in 1882. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910.



County Courthouse – New Albany

















County Circuit Court courtroom















County Jail – New Albany



Photos taken 2012 and 2017