Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Lafayette County

Lafayette County

Lafayette County is named for Marie Joseph Paul Lafayette, who was a French general who fought in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1757 to 1834.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tate County and Marshall County

E – Union County and Pontotoc County

S – Calhoun County and Yalobusha County

W – Panola County 


Created:  February 9, 1836                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting Lafayette County

County Seat: 

Oxford  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Oxford 


Location:  Courthouse Square / Jackson Avenue

Built:  1871 – 1872

Style:  Greek Revival and Italianate

Architect:  Spires Boling of Willis, Sloan and Trigg

Contractor:  Fletcher Sloan


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story white colored stuccoed masonry structure. The building sits on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Oxford. The south front has a central portico with three arches on the first story and four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is a balcony on the second story. The north side has a similar portico. On the center of the roof is a high square white colored cupola with clock at the top. In the interior, the first story has a hallway running the length of the building with stone walls. There is an elegant stairway with subtly carved rail and turned balusters. The large courtroom is located on the second story with balcony at the back. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District. In 1952 to 1953, the east and west bays were added. The architect was Barton A England, Jr. and the contractor was Central Construction Company. The building was renovated in 1981. The architect was Godfrey Bassett Maisel and Tuminello and the contractor was Grantham Construction Company Inc. The building was further renovated in 2008. The architect was Howorth & Associates Architects and the contractor was Panola Construction Company.


See:  The architect, Willis, Sloan and Trigg, also designed courthouses in Marshall County and Hardeman County, Tennessee.


Note:  In 1864, the original courthouse was burned by Union troops under the command of General A J “Whiskey” Smith. Following the Civil War the present courthouse was built and completed in January 1872. The Marshall County courthouse is a similar style as the architect and contractor were the same.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lafayette County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Benton CountyCalhoun CountyChickasaw CountyMarshall CountyTippah County and Union County.


County Chancery Building – Oxford 



Location:  300 North Lamar Boulevard / Monroe Avenue

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Johnson Bailey Henderson McNeel  Architects

Contractor:  ANCO Construction, Inc. of Corinth


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of the city to the north of the courthouse. The west front has a central portico with four columns rising to the roof line. A long two story porch extends along the west side. The roof is hipped.  In the inteerior, the courtrooms are located on the second story. The building houses the County Chancery Court and County Youth Court.


See:  The architect, Johnson Bailey Henderson McNeel  Architects, also designed the Justice Center in Lee County. 


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Oxford was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Grayson and Gordon in 1836 to 1840 at a cost of $23,600. The courthouse was burned by Union troops on August 22, 1864.The court met in various rented buildings on the Courthouse Square. Two of the buildings were rented from Mrs. B W Butler and Mr. W T Avent. Five rooms were rented from State Cook and Company on the southwest corner. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1871 to 1872 at a cost of $22,500. The 1952 to 1953 addition cost $93,595. The County Chancery Building was constructed in 3000 to 2002.



County Courthouse – Oxford





















County Circuit Court courtroom













County Chancery Building – Oxford

















County Chancery Court courtroom





Commmissioner’s Meeting Room



Photos taken 2012 and 2017