Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Tate County

Tate County

Tate County is named for Thomas Simpson Tate, who was a pioneer settler in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – DeSoto County

E – Marshall County

S – Lafayette County and Panola County

W – Tunica County


Created:  April 15, 1873                                                              Map of Mississippi highlighting Tate County

County Seat: 

Senatobia  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Senatobia 


Location:  201 South Ward Street / Court Street

Built:  1875 – 1876

Style:  Italian Gothic

Architect:  James Bartholomew Cook

Contractor:  John ( Jack )  Hortense Cocke


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Senatobia. The east front has a central tower with arched entrance on the first story. Above is an arched window on the second story with three arched openings on the third story and with steep green colored roof. The building has arched windows and a gabled roof. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom on the second story has a decorative carved wood ceiling. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial District, County Chancery Court and County Youth Court. The building was enlarged in 1904. The Chancery vault was built in 1956. On the south side is a low one story annex built in 1975. The architect was Brewer, Godbold & Associates Ltd. and the contractor was Wright Way Construction Inc. The building was restored and the west addition was constructed in 1999 to 2000. The addition contains a courtroom on the second story. The architect was Belinda Stewart Architects of Europa and the contractor was Panola Construction Company, Inc.


Note:  The brick for the courthouse were made locally by William Quinn and Alan Tooms. The woodwork was done by Mr. Creagor, a mechanic from Memphis, Tennessee.


See:  The 17th Judicial District includes DeSoto CountyPanola CountyTallahatchie County and Yalobusha County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Senatobia was selected as the county seat. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1875 to 1876 at a cost of $19,800.


County Office Building – Senatobia 



Location:  201 South Ward Street / Court Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Terence O Young of Senatobia

Contractor:  Brooks Varner Construction Company of Hernando


Description:  The building faces

Built in 1977, the building is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The The building is located on the west side of the courthouse in the center of Senatobia. The rectangular shaped building is named as the Leroy Crockett Building. The roof line if flat.



County Courthouse – Senatobia















County Circuit Court courtroom























Addition 1975





Addition 1999 







County Office Building – Senatobia



Photos taken 2012 and 2018