Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » DeSoto County

DeSoto County

DeSoto County is named for Hernando de Soto, who was a Spanish explorer who discovered and named the Mississippi River.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Shelby County, Tennessee

E – Marshall County

S – Tate County

W – Tunica County and Crittenden County, Arkansas


Created:  February 9, 1836                                                        Map of Mississippi highlighting DeSoto County

County Seat: 

Hernando  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Hernando 


Location:  2535 Old Highway 51 / West Losher Street

Built:  1940 – 1941

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  Robert William Naef

Contractor:  M T Reed Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Hernando. The east front has a large portico with six columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The north and south wings project from the main building and have peaked roofs. On the center of the building is a square white colored cupola with small dome at the top. The roof is hipped. The interior rotunda has murals. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the rotunda on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial District, County Chancery Court, County Court and County Youth Court. During construction,  Fred B Johnston was the supervisor. An addition was constructed in 1985. The architect was Brewer Godbold Hansen and Dickson and the contractor was Sharp Construction Company, Inc.


Note:  The seven murals in the courthouse depict scenes of DeSoto and other early explorers of the area and were painted for the historic Gayoso Hotel in Memphis. They were donated to the county in 1952 by the Goldsmiths department store chain.


See:  The 17th Judicial District includes Panola CountyTallahatchie CountyTate County and Yalobusha County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Hernando was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was erected in Jefferson ( Hernando ) in 1836. The courthouse was burned in 1863 during the Civil War. Court was held in different building until 1871 when Seebring and Lee removed the ruins of the burned courthouse. The second courthouse was designed by Felix La Bauve and built by Jones & Baldwinin ion 1871 to 1872. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1940. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1940 to 1941.


County Administration Center – Hernando



Location:  365 West Losher Street / Caffey Street

Built:  1998 – 2000

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Allen & Hoshall Ltd.

Contractor:  Panola Construction Company


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on the southwest side of the courthouse in the center of Hernando. The northeast corner has a large round tower with round windows on the third story, flat roof and interior rotunda. In front of the building is a small plaza with fountain. The building has an north wing and an east wing which join at the round tower. The roof line is flat.



County Courthouse – Hernando













County Circuit Court courtroom































County Administration Center – Hernando













Photos taken 2012 and 2018