Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi » Calhoun County

Calhoun County

Calhoun County is named for John C Calhoun, who was the seventh Vice President of the United   States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lafayette County

E – Pontotoc County and Chickasaw County

S – Webster County

W – Grenada County and Yalobusha County


Created:  March 8, 1852                                                             Map of Mississippi highlighting Calhoun County

County Seat: 

Pittsboro  1852 – present


County Courthouse – Pittsboro 


Location:  103 West Main Street / Murphree Street

Built:  2011 – 2012

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Pryor & Morrow of Tupelo

Contractor:  Sanderson Construction Company Inc. of Amory


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of  Pittsboro. The lower part of the building is red colored brick and the upper part is concrete. The north front of the building has a two story tower on the northeast corner with open porch on the first story. The center section has two projecting sections with glass walls and between then them are recessed sections with a canopy. The building descends west down a slope with the first story entrance on the west side. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial District, County Chancery Court, County Youth Court and County Justice Court. 


 Note:  The old courthouse was demolished in 2011 to make way for the new courthouse.  Built in 1938 to 1939, the building was a two story white colored wood structure which faced north. The building was a Works Project Administration project.


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Benton CountyChickasaw CountyLafayette CountyMarshall CountyTippah County and Union County.


History:  The county was created in 1852 and Pittsboro was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built and in 1922 was destroyed by fire. The second courthouse was built in 1938 and was demolished in 2011. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 2010 to 2012.



Old County Courthouse ( demolished ) – Pittsboro 



County Courthouse – Pittsboro















Photos taken 2012