Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Pendleton County

Pendleton County

Pendleton County is named for Edmund Pendleton, who was a member of the Continental Congress.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kenton County and Campbell County

E – Clermont County, Ohio and Bracken County

S – Harrison County

W – Grant County 


Created:  December 4, 1798                  Map of Kentucky highlighting Pendleton County

County Seat: 

Falmouth  1798 – present


County Courthouse –  Falmouth 


Location:  233 Main Street / West Shelby Street

Built:  1847 – 1848

Style:  Victorian

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The The building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Falmouth. The east front has a recessed entrance on the first story with two windows above on the second story. At the roof line is a small peak. The eave runs along the roof line. On the south side is a four story square brick clock tower with arched entrance on the first story and with clock and steep roof at the top. There is a south wing which projects behind the clock tower. Stone trim is above the windows. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was remodeled in 1884 with the addition of the clock tower and Clerk’s Office on the south side. The building was renovated in 1975.


County Judicial Center –  Falmouth 



Location:  120 Ridgeway Avenue / Main Street

Built:  2008 – 2010

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CMW Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Falmouth to the south of the courthouse.. The south section has a tiered brick clock tower with arch on the first story and recessed entrance. On the west side is a projecting section with large arched windows. The east section has white colored columns rising to a wide header with recessed windows. The roof line is flat.


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


See:  The 18th Judicial Circuit includes Harrison County, Nicholas County, Pendleton County and Robertson County.


History:  The county was created in 1798 and Falmouth was selected as the county seat. The first court met in the home of Thomas Anderson in 1799. The first courthouse was a stone structure built in 1798 on land donated by John Walker. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1847 to 1848. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2008 to 2010.



County Courthouse – Falmouth

























County Judicial Center – Falmouth

























Photos taken 2012 and 2018