Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Grant County

Grant County

Grant County is named for Samuel Grant (1762-1789), John Grant (1754-1826) or Squire Grant (1764-1833), who were early settlers in Kentucky.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Gallatin CountyBoone County and Kenton County

E – Pendleton County

S – Harrison CountyScott County and Owen County

W – Owen County and Gallatin County


Created:  February 12, 1820                  Map of Kentucky highlighting Grant County

County Seat: 

Williamstown  1820 – present


County Courthouse – Williamstown 


Location:  101 North Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1937 – 1939

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  E C Landberg and G T Landberg

Contractor:  Skinner Brothers of Lexington


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of Williamstown.  The east front has four high columns supporting the pediment which has a decorative cornice. The main doorway is framed with light brown colored stone. On the center of the roof is a tall white colored spire with clock at the base and small green colored dome with a thin upper spire and weather vain. The courtroom is located on the second story. The interior was remodeled in 1976. The architect was McClorey & Savage of Cincinnati, Ohio and the contractor was TCS Contracting of Covington. On the north side is the old brick Record Office.


County Judicial Center – Williamstown 



Location:  224 South Main Street / Paris Street

Built:  2007 – 2009

Style:  Modern

Architect:  JRA Architects of Louisville

Contractor:  Codell Construction Company of Winchester


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the southeast of the center of Williamstown and the courthouse. The northwest front has a large porch with four large columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The center section projects from the main building. On the center of the roof is an octagonal cupola with balustrade and smaller cupola with black colored dome at the top. The roof is sloped. On the south side, there is a one story wing.


See:  The contractor was Codell Construction Company of Winchester which company constructed many courthouse in Kentucky ( see  Louisville ).


See:  The 15th Judicial Circuit includes Carroll County,  Grant County and Owen County.


History:  The county was created in 1820 and Williamstown was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Henry Childers in 1820. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built by William Arnold in 1821 at a cost of $2,199. The second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1852 on the Public Square. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1937 to 1939 at a cost of $106,933. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2007 to 2009 at a cost of $16,600,000.



County Courthouse – Williamstown





























County Record Office –  Williamstown









County Judicial Center – Williamstown













Photos taken 2007, 2012 and 2018