Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Scott County

Scott County

Scott County is named for Charles Scott, who was the Governor of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Owen County

E – Harrison County and Bourbon County

S – Fayette County

W – Woodford County and Franklin County


Created:  June 22, 1792                         Map of Kentucky highlighting Scott County

County Seat: 

Georgetown  1792 – present


County Courthouse – Georgetown  


Location:  101 East Main Street / North Broadway Street

Built:  1877 – 1878

Style:  French Second Empire

Architect:  Thomas Boyd of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Contractor:  Isaac Graven of Cincinnati, Ohio


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story brown-red colored brick structure.  The building is located on landscaped in the center of Georgetown. The south front has light stone trim around the entrance and along the corners of the building. White colored stone decorates the top of the windows and the second story windows are long and ached. Above the entrance is a statue of Justice behind rises a high mansard roof with round porthole windows and with a square cupola with white dome containing a clock. The building was renovated in 1971 to 1972. The architect was James A Ross of Lexington. The building was renovated in 1994. The architect was Day Johnston and the contractor was Architecture Plus, Inc. and Jim Woodrum and Scott Baker.


See:  The architect, Thomas Boyd of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania also designed the courthouse in Jessamine County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Scott County Courthouse


County Justice Building – Georgetown  



Location:  119 North Hamilton Street / East Oregon Street

Built:  1989 – 1990

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Chrisman-Miller-Woodford, Inc.

Contractor:  C E Pennington Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Georgetown to the north of the courthouse.  Along the first story are large arches. The roof is hipped. The building is named as the Jail & Justice Building with the Jail on the west side. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 14th Judicial District.


See:  The 14th Judicial Circuit includes Bourbon County, Scott County and Woodford County.


History:  The county was created in 1792 and Georgetown was designated as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1792 on a lot sold to the county by Elijah Craig. The second courthouse was a larger structure built shortly after the first courthouse. The courthouse burned on August 9, 1837.  The third courthouse was built in 1847 and burned in October 1876. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1877 to 1878 at a cost of $34,000 and final cost of $50,000. The County Justice Building was constructed in 1988 to 1990.



County Courthouse – Georgetown













County Justice Building – Georgetown





Photos taken 2007