Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Franklin County

Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Henry County and Owen County

E – Scott County

S – Woodford County and Anderson County

W – Shelby County 


Created:  December 7, 1794                  Map of Kentucky highlighting Franklin County

County Seat: 

Frankfort  1794 – present


County Courthouse – Frankfort  


Location:  218   Saint Clair Street / West Main Street

Built:  1832 – 1835

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Gideon Shryock  of Louisville

Contractor:  Gideon Shryock  of Louisville


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brown colored brick structure. The east front has a high portico supported by four large columns. Atop the roof is an octagonal white colored cupola rising in tiers with a clock on the second tier. In 1909, the building was expanded by thirty feet. Other renovations were made in 1927 and 1949. The administration wing is along the north side.


Note:  The present courthouse was constructed of stone, quarried from land owned by Phillip Swigert.  In the cupola, stands a clock purchased in Philadelphia by the City of Frankfort.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1806. The Hiram Lodge had been granted permission to construct the third floor of the courthouse in 1806, at their own expense, for use as a Mason Hall.


See:  The architect, Gideon Shryock  of Louisville, designed the courthouse in Jefferson County.


See:  Kentucky Supreme Court is located in the State Capitol and the Kentucky Court of Appeals is located in the county.



County Courthouse – Frankfort





























Courthouse in 2007 before the addition

























Photos taken 2007 and 2018