Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Woodford County

Woodford County

Woodford County is named for William Woodford, who was a general in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Franklin County and Scott County

E – Fayette County and Jessamine County

S – Mercer County

W – Mercer County and Anderson County


Created:  November 12, 1788                Map of Kentucky highlighting Woodford County

County Seat: 

Versailles  1788 – present


County Courthouse – Versailles


Location:  103 South Main Street / South Court Street

Built:  1968 – 1970

Style:  Modern Georgian

Architect:  Clotfelter & Johnson

Contractor:  The Gault Brothers Construction of Lexington


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is locaterd on landscaped grounds in the center of Versailles. On the east front is a two story portico with six large columns supporting the pediment which contains a design at the center. Steps on the north and south ascend to the second story portico. On the center of the roof is a high white colored square cupola with clock at the base and green colored roof with weather vane at the top. In the interior, the large courtroom is located on the third story. 


County Courthouse Annex –  Versailles 



Location:  130 Court Street / South Main Street

Built:  1997 – 1998

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CMW Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  CMW/CM Inc.. of Lexington


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Versailles on the west side of the courthouse. The east front has a large extended central porch supported by red colored brick pillars with recessed entrance with glass walls. The green colored hipped roof has a square white colored cupola with green colored roof. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 14th Judicial District. 


See:  The 14th Judicial Circuit includes Bourbon County, Scott County and Woodford County.


History:  The county was created in 1788 and Versailles was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Caleb Wallace in 1789. The court met in two churches and in Shannon’s Meeting House until the first courthouse was built of buckeye logs by Jesse Graddy in 1790 at a cost of $22.50. The second courthouse was a stone structure built by James Thompkins and Henry Thompkins in 1793 to 1794. The third courthouse was a brick structure designed by Phelix L Lundin and built by Matthew Jett in 1812 to 1813 had a cupola and the clock added by 1846. The courthouse burned in 1965. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1968 to 1970 at a cost of $1,100,000. The County Courthouse Annex was constructed in 1997 to 1998.



County Courthouse – Versailles 





























Picture 1813 County Courthouse





County Courthouse Annex – Versailles





Photos taken 2007 and 2018