Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Fayette County

Fayette County

Fayette County is named for Gilbert du Motier, marquis de La Fayette, who was a French general who fought in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1757 to 1834.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Scott County

E – Bourbon County and Clark County

S – Madison County and Jessamine County

W – Jessamine County and Woodford County


Created:  May 1, 1780                            Map of Kentucky highlighting Fayette County

County Seat: 

Lexington  1789 – present


County Courthouse – Lexington 


Location:  120 North Limestone Street / Main Street

Built:  1999 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sherman-Carter-Barnhart, Hartman-Cox and Ricci & Associates

Contractor:  Jacobs Facilities, Inc. and CRSS Constructors, Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and consists of two buildings which are five story concrete and glass structures called the Robert F Stephens Courthouse Complex. The south building is the Fayette County Circuit Court and the north building is the Fayette County District Court. Courtroom lobbies are located on the exterior and overlook the public plaza.


Old County Courthouse – Lexington 



Location:  215 West Main Street / North Upper Street

Built:  1898 – 1900

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Israel J Lehman and Theodore Schmitt of Cleveland

Contractor:  Albert Howard and George Clarke of Lexington


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story gray colored stone structure. The building is located on Courthouse Square and is a Greek cross shape. The south front has a projecting center section with arched entrance on the first story with small balcony above and rising to a peaked dormer at the roof line. Each side of the building has similar entrances. On the center of roof is a large square dome with clock and circular cupola at the top. The building is now the Lexington History Museum. The building served until 2001.


Note:  Previous courthouses were built in 1788 and 1806. The cost of construction of the old courthouse was $187,181.


See:  The architect, Israel J Lehman and Theodore Schmitt of Cleveland, Ohio, designed the courthouse in Ohio in Cuyahoga County.


County Administration – Lexington 



Location:  200 East Main Street / Martin   Luther King Street

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Commercial / Beaux Arts

Architect:  Chris C Weber and E A Weber of Cincinnati and Fort Thomas

Contractor:  Mason and Hanger


Description:  The building faces north and is is a twelve story brick, stone, ceramic tile and metal structure. The building was formerly the Lafayette Hotel. The building is named as the Government Center and also houses the Lexington City offices.



County Courthouse – Lexington

























Photos taken 2007 and 2014