Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Jefferson County

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Floyd County, Indiana, Clark County, Indiana and Oldham County

E – Shelby County and Spencer County

S – Bullitt County

W – Harrison County, Indiana and Floyd County, Indiana


Created:  May 1, 1780                            Map of Kentucky highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat: 

Louisville  1780 – present


County Courthouse –  Louisville  


Location:  527 West Jefferson Street / South 6th Street

Built:  1837– 1860

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Gideon Shryock of Louisville and Albert Fink of Louisville

Contractor:  Gideon Shryock of Louisville


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story stuccoed and stone structure. The building was occupied in 1842. At the south front there is a large portico with four large columns. The windows on the second story are higher than the windows on the first story. The building had a dome that was removed in 1905. There is a large interior rotunda with a statue of Henry Clay. The building was renovated in 1982. The architect was Bickel-Gibson Architects, Inc.


Note:  Shortly after construction began, Shryock was either fired or left the project. In financially tough times, construction stalled. The building was only partially finished when the city and county governments took up occupancy in 1842. The courthouse stood unfinished until 1858, when construction was taken over by Albert Fink, a bridge designer and engineer for the L&N Railroad.


See:  The architect, Gideon Shryock  of Louisville, designed the courthouse in Franklin County.


County Hall of Justice –  Louisville  




Location:  600 West Jefferson Street / South 6th Street

Built:  1973 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a five story concrete and glass structure.  The main entrance is located at the northeast corner. Vertical concrete pillars support the horizontal projecting stories with horizontal windows. The north section rises higher than the south section. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Louis D Brandeis Hall of Justice. 


County Judicial Center –  Louisville  



Location:  700 West 7th Street / West Jefferson Street

Built:  1999 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Louis & Henry Group of Louisville

Contractor:  Turner Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a ten story concrete and glass structure.  The main entrance is located at the northeast corner with six high columns rising to a circular section at the sixth story. The entrance is recessed. The north side of the building is curved blue colored glass. A high concrete tower rises on the northwest corner. The roof line is flat.  The building is connected to the Hall of Justice on the east side.


History:  The county was created in 1780 and Louisville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log cabin erected in 1784. The second and third courthouses were built. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1837 to 1842 as the City and County Building. The County Hall of Justice was constructed in 1973 to 1975. The County Justice Center was constructed in 1999 to 2001.



County Courthouse – Louisville







































County Hall of Justice – Louisville















County Judicial Center – Louisville













Photos taken 2007 and 2018