Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Clark County

Clark County

Clark County is named for George Rogers Clark, who was victorious over the British in capturing Fort Kaskaskia, Fort Cahokia and Fort Vincennes.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Scott County and Jefferson County

E – Trimble County, Kentucky and Oldham County, Kentucky

S – Jefferson County, Kentucky

W – Floyd County and Washington County


Created:  February 3, 1801                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Clark County

County Seat: 

Springfield      1801 – 1802

Jeffersonville  1802 – 1811

Charlestown   1811 – 1878

Jeffersonville  1878 – present



County Courthouse – Jeffersonville


Location:  501 East Court Avenue / Meigis Street

Built:  1968 – 1970

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wright, Porteous & Lowe Inc.

Contractor:  F H Wilheim Construction Company


Description:  The buildings face south and is a complex of buff colored brick and concrete structures. The buildings are located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jefferson. The buildings form a “U” with a center plaza on the south center. At the southwest corner, the building has large high arches and a flat roof. The north center section is one story with a higher building on the east side. There is another building on the northwest side. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County Superior Court of the 23rd Judicial District. The complex is named as the County Government Building. 


Note:  Clark County was the second county created after Knox County (1800). The 1802 courthouse was the first courthouse built in Indiana and the second courthouse was built in Dearborn County in 1810. Knox County did not build a courthouse until 1813.


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Floyd County and Scott County.


History:  The county was created in 1801 and Springfield was selected as the county seat. In 1802, the county seat was moved to Jeffersonville. The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1802. The county seat was moved to Charlestown in 1811 and the second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1813. The third courthouse was built in 1850. The county seat was moved back to Jeffersonville in 1878 and the fourth courthouse was built at a cost of $30,000. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1970 to 1971.



County Courthouse – Jeffersonville











Photos taken 2008