Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Scott County

Scott County

Scott County is named for Charles Scott, who was the Governor of Kentucky from 1808 to 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County and Jennings County

E – Jefferson County

S – Clark County

W – Washington County


Created:  January 12, 1820                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Scott County

County Seat:

Lexington    1820 – 1874

Scottsburg   1874 – present


County Courthouse – Scottsburg


Location:  1 East McClain Avenue / South Main Street

Built:  1873 – 1874

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Andrew R Baty

Contractor:  Travis Carter and Company of Seymour, J F Fabel and William McKay


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on the spacious landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Scottsburg. The original section is located on the west side and has a north front which extends from the main building and has an arched entrance on the first story. Limestone lintels are above the windows and the building has a wide eave with hipped roof with gables. In the interior the hallway runs from north to south. On the east side is the new addition having a center section with vertical red colored brick pilasters and entrances on the first story having a white colored cupola on the center of the roof. At the far eastern side is a section which mirrors the original section. All of the sections are joined to form one building. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County Superior Court of the 23rd Judicial District. The addition was built on the east side in 1996. The architect was Ratio Architects Inc.of Indianapolis and the contractor was Parco Construction Company Inc.


See:  Scottsburg Courthouse Square Historic District


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Clark County and Floyd County.


History: The county was created in 1820 and Lexington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built by Daniel P Faulkner built in 1821 at a cost of $4,500. The building was later demolished in 119.In 1874, the county seat was moved to Scottsburg. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1873 to 1874.



County Courthouse – Scottsburg













Photos taken 2008