Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Harrison County

Harrison County

Harrison County is named for William Harrison, who was a Governor of the Indiana Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Washington County 

E – Floyd County and Jefferson County, Kentucky

S – Bullitt County, Kentucky, Hardin County, Kentucky and Meade County, Kentucky

W – Meade County, Kentucky and Crawford County


Created:  October 11, 1808                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Harrison County

County Seat: 

Corydon  1808 – present


County Courthouse – Corydon  


Location:  300 North Capitol Avenue / East Walnut Street

Built:  1927 – 1929

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Fowler & Karges of Evansville

Contractor:  J Fred Beggs & Company of Scottsburg.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center opf Corydon. The building has a portico on the south front with a single entrance on the first story and four large columns on the second story rising to a wide header. Between the columns are three large arched windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 24th Judicial District. On the north side are the Old Governor’s Headquarters and Old Treasury Building built in 1817.


Old County Courthouse – Corydon  



Location:  South Campbell Street / High Street

Built:  1813 – 1816

Style:  Federal

Architect:  George L Mesker & Company

Contractor:  Dennis Pennington


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story gray colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cortdon on the south side of the courthouse. The west front has a central arched entrance. On the center of the roof is a white colored octagonal cupola. The built as the State Capitol and became a courthouse in 1825 when the state capitol was moved to Indianapolis.


See:  Similar square shaped Federal style courthouses are located in Dearborn County and Perry County.


See:  The 24th Judicial District includes Crawford County, Orange County and Washington County


History:  The county was created in 1808 and Corydon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1811 was a converted two story log house purchased at a cost of $500. The building was also the seat of the Indians Territorial government. The second courthouse was built in 1813 to 1816 at a cost of $3,000 and is still standing. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1929 at a cost of $250,000.



County Courthouse – Corydon









Old County Courthouse – Corydon







Photos taken 2008