Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Indiana » Crawford County

Crawford County

Crawford County is named for William H. Crawford, who was the United States Treasury Secretary in 1818 or for William Crawford, who was a soldier in the French and Indian War and American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Orange County and Washington County 

E – Harrison County

S – Meade County, Kentucky and Perry County

W – Perry County and Dubois County


Created:  January 29, 1818                                                        Map of Indiana highlighting Crawford County

County Seat: 

Mount Sterling  1818 – 1822

Fredonia           1822 – 1843

Leavenworth     1843 – 1896

English              1896 – 2003

New English      2003 – present


County Judicial Complex – New English


Location:  715 Judicial Plaza Drive / State Road 64

Built:  2003 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Schenkel Shultz

Contractor:  The Krempp Lumber Company and J E Skekell.


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red colored brick and concrete  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of New English. The low building forms a “V” at the north side with the large entrance arch in the center. The windows are small. and the roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court and the County Superior Court of the 24th Judicial District.

County Courthouse – English



Location:  South Court Street / West Sawmill Road

Built:  1957 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Lester W Routt & Associates

Contractor:  Meriwether & Bauman.


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building fis located on landscaped grounds in the crenter of English. The east front has a central entrance section with gray colored stone and peaked roof. The roof is hipped.


See:  The 24th Judicial District includes Harrison CountyOrange County and Washington County


History: The county was created in 1818 and Sterling was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a frame structure built by William Hart and David Miller in 1818 at a cost of $196. The county seat was moved to Fredonia in 1822 and the second courthouse was a brick structure built by Allan D Thom in 1822. The courthouse ruins are still standing. The county seat was moved to Leavenworth in 1843 and the third courthouse was a brick structure. In 1896, the county seat was moved to English and the fourth courthouse was designed by Oliver W Marble and constructed in English in 1895 to 1896 at a cost of $48,000. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1959 at a cost of $105,851. The county seat was moved to New English in 2003 and the sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 2003 to 2004 as the County Judicial Complex.



County Judicial Complex – New English









County Courthouse – English





Photos taken 2008