Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Fleming County

Fleming County

Fleming County is named for John Fleming, who was an early settler in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mason County and Lewis County

E – Lewis County and Rowan County

S – Bath County

W – Nicholas County and Robertson County


Created:  February 10, 1798                  Map of Kentucky highlighting Fleming County

County Seat: 

Flemingsburg   1798 – present


County Courthouse –  Flemingsburg  


Location:  100 Court Square / North Main Cross Street

Built:  1952 – 1953

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Kenroy, Cormack and Scott

Contractor:  Robert D Short


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of the Public Square in the center of Flemingburg with the downtown descending down the hill to the southwest. The southwest front has a portico supported by four columns rising to a wide pediment. The entrance on the first story has a wood frame and fan light above. On the center of the roof is a square cupola.


Note:  During construction of the courthouse, the mechanical contractor was C S Veach & Sons and the electrical contractor was Melvin Havens.


County Judicial Center – Flemingsburg 



Location:  101 Main Cross Street / Water Street

Built:  2009 – 2011

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Brandstetter Carroll Inc. of Lexington

Contractor:  Trace Creek Construction Inc. of Vanceburg


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story structure. The building is located in the center of Flemingsburg. The south corner has a curved section with large arched entrances on the first story and with a balustrade along the second story. Behind is a round section with arched windows and large dome. The upper sections of the northeast and northwest wings are red colored brick with columns. The roof line is flat. 


See:  The contractor, Trace Creek Construction Inc. also constructed the justice centers in Bracken County, Lewis County and Robertson County.


See:  The 19th Judicial Circuit includes Bracken County, Fleming County and Mason County.


History:  The county was created in 1798 and Flemingsburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure erected after 1798. The second courthouse was a two story structure built by Samuel Stockwell in 1828 to 1830. An addition was built in 1869.The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1952 to 1953. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2009 to 2011 at a cost of $13,500,000.



County Courthouse – Flemingsburg  















County Judicial Center – Flemingsburg















Photos taken 2012 and 2018