Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Blount County

Blount County


Blount County is named for Willie Blount, who was a Governor of Tennessee.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Cullman County and Marshall County

E – Marshall County, Etowah County and Saint Clair County

S – Saint Clair County and Jefferson County

W – Walker County and Cullman County


Created:  February 7, 1818                                                        Map of Alabama highlighting Blount County

County Seat:

Blountsville  1818 – 1889

Oneonta       1889 – present


County Courthouse – Oneonta


Location:  220 2nd Avenue East / 3rd Street North

Built:  1953 – 1954

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Martin J Lide of Birmingham

Contractor:  Andrew Dawson & Shenesey


Description:  The building  faces southeast and is a two story red and brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Oneonta. The building is a “U” shape with the entrance at the center with a high concrete wall having the county crest at the top. The windows are horizontal. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 41st Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. The building was enlarged in 1984. The architect was Plauren Barrett and the contractor was Stone Building Company. Along the south side is the Tom Bevill Building – Courthouse Annex constructed in 1996. The contractor was L & L Acoustical.


See:  The architect,  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, designed courthouses in Alabama in Cullman County, Marshall County, Saint Clair County, Tallapoosa County and Wilcox County and in Tennessee in Anderson CountyRoane County, Union County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Blountsville was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of William Kelly, five miles east of Elyton. The first courthouse was a two story structure built in Blountsville in 1833. The county seat was moved to Oneonta in 1889 and the second courthouse was built by Otto Puls. The courthouse was enlarged in 1935 and was demolished when the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1953 to 1954.



County Courthouse – Oneonta











County Courthouse Annex – Oneonta





Photos taken 2010