Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Overton County

Overton County

Overton County is named for John Overton, who was one of the co-founders of Memphis.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County and Pickett County

E – Pickett County and Fentress County

S – Putnam County

W – Putnam County and Jackson County


Created:  September 11, 1806               Map of Tennessee highlighting Overton County

County Seat: 

Monroe      1806 – 1835

Livingston  1835 – present


County Courthouse – Livingston


Location:  100 East Court Square / West Main Street

Built:  1868 – 1869

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Josiah S Copeland

Contractor:  Josiah S Copeland


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brown-red colored brick structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Court Square in the center of Livingston. The entrances are arched. The roof is hipped with gable ends on the east and west sides. The large courtroom is located on the second story. Repairs were made in 1934 and the building was renovated in 1978 to 1979. The architect was Thomas-Miller Architects of Nashville and the contractor was Jacobs Construction of Nashville. The building was renovated in 2014 by Lee Company of Nashville.


County Justice Center – Livingston



Location:  900 North Church Street / Pondexter Drive

Built:  2001 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  J Mark Rodgers of Cookeville

Contractor:  W & O Construction Company of Cookeville.


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the north of the center of Livingston. On the west side is a one story section with central entrance on the northwest side. The building is connected to the two story jail. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County Criminal Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 13th Judicial District. 


See:  The 13th Judicial District includes Clay County, Cumberland CountyDeKalb County, Overton County, Pickett CountyPutnam County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1806 and Monroe was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Benjamin Totten on Eagle Creek. The first courthouse was built in Monroe in 1810. In 1835, the county seat was moved to Livingston and the second courthouse was built. The third courthouse was built in 1855 and was burned in 1865 during the Civil War. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1868 to 1869 at a cost of $9,999. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2001 to 2002.



County Courthouse – Livinston























County Justice Center – Livingston









Photos taken 2014 and 2018