Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Jackson County

Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clay County

E – Overton County and Putnam County

S – Putnam County and Smith County

W – Smith County and Macon County


Created:  November 6, 1801                  Map of Tennessee highlighting Jackson County

County Seat: 

Fount Blount    1801 – 1807

Williamsburg    1807 – 1819

Gainesboro      1819 – present


County Courthouse – Gainesboro


Location:  101 East Hull Avenue / Union Street

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Modern Art Deco

Architect:  Tisdale, Pinson & Stone of Nashville

Contractor:  Maugans-Bell


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Gainesboro. The south front has a central recessed entrance with double columns on either side and balcony on the second story. Two pilasters rise from the second story to the top of the third story. The west side is similar. The base of the building is course stone. Narrow horizontal belts run above the first story and the third story. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with clock and green colored roof. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County Criminal Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 15th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, Tisdale, Pinson & Stone of Nashville, also designed the courthouse in Hickman County.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Macon CountySmith CountyTrousdale County and Wilson County.


History:  The county was created in 1901 and Fort Blount was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of John Brown in 1801. The county seat was moved to Williamsburg in 1807 and the first courthouse was built in 1807. In 1819, the county seat was moved to Gainesboro and the second courthouse was built in 1820. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1872. The third courthouse was built in 1873. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1928.



County Courthouse – Gainesboro





















Photos taken 2014 and 2018