Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Richland Parish

Richland Parish

Richland Parish is named for the rich land located in the Parish.


Surrounding Pariah Courthouses: 

N – Morehouse Parish and West Carroll Parish

E – East Carroll ParishMadison Parish and Franklin Parish

S – Caldwell Parish

W – Caldwell Parish and Ouachita Parish


Created:  September 29, 1868               Map of Louisiana highlighting Richland Parish

Parish Seat  :        

Rayville  1868 – present


Parish Courthouse – Rayville 


Location:  708 Julia Street / Madeleine Street

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Smith Padgett and Stubbs

Contractor:  J A Harper


Description:  The building faces east and is a five story cream colored concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Rayville. The central first story entrance on the east front  is recessed. There are one story north and south wings. The roof line is flat. Wide steps descend from the building on the east side. The courtroom is located on the east side of the third story. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 5th Judicial District. 


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Franklin Parish and West Carroll Parish.


History:  The parish was created in 1869 and Rayville was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was a two room wood frame structure built in 1870. The building was sold to a church and the lumber was floated ten miles down the river to the present location at Little Creek. The second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1881 to 1882. The building was remodeled in 1904. The architect was Andrew J Bryan. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1951.



Parish Courthouse – Rayville



















Parish District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2011 and 2019