Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Franklin Parish

Franklin Parish

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Richland Parish

E – Madison Parish and Tensas Parish

S – Tensas Parish and Catahoula Parish

W – Caldwell Parish and Richland Parish


Created:  March 1, 1843                         Map of Louisiana highlighting Franklin Parish

Parish Seat: 

Boueff Prairie  1843 – 1846

Winnsboro      1846 – present


Parish Courthouse – Winnsboro  


Location:  6550 Main Street / Pine Street

Built:  1950 – 1951

Style:  Modern

Architect:  John W Baker and Neild-Somdal-Associates

Contractor:  J A Harper


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Winnsboro. The center section rises three stories with a central recessed entranced framed with stone. The east and west wings are one story. The roof line is flat. The large Parish District Court courtroom is located on the south side of the second story. The building houses the Parish District Court of the 5th Judicial District, The building was renovated and an addition was added in 1980. The architect was William R Burk – Associates and E Ray Couchran – Associate of Winnsboro and the contractor was Earl Walker Construction Company of Sicily Island.


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Richland Parish and West Carroll Parish.


History:  The parish was created in 1843 and Boeuff Prairie was selected as the parish seat. The first court met at Beouff Prairie and the first courthouse was a crude structure built by E W R Jones in 1845, The parish seat was moved to Winnsboro in 1846 and an old frame building near the southeast corner of the present courthouse was used as the second courthouse until 1856, when a brick building was erected as the third courthouse. The fourth courthouse was designed by W S Hull and constructed by F B Hull & W S Hull Construction Company in 1903. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1950 to 1951..



Parish Courthouse – Winnsboro















Parish District Court courtroom



















Photos taken 2011 and 2019