Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Orleans Parish

Orleans Parish

Orleans Parish is named for the Duke of Orleans, who was the regent of France.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Saint Tammany Parish

E – Hancock County, Mississippi and Saint Bernard Parish

S – Saint Bernard ParishPlaquemines Parish and Jefferson Parish

W – Jefferson Parish


Created:  March 31, 1807                                   Map of Louisiana highlighting Orleans Parish.svg

Parish Seat: 

New Orleans  1807 – present


Parish Criminal Courthouse – New Orleans  


Location:  2700 Tulane Avenue / Broad Street

Built:  1929 – 1930

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Dibolli & Owens

Contractor:  R P Farnsworth & Company, Inc.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story concrete structure with Art Deco elements. The building is located on landscaped grounds the north side of the center of New Orleans. The center section on the east side has twelve high columns with wide header above. Wide steps ascend to the central entrance. On the south and north of the front are two projecting square towers on either side. The roof line is flat.


Parish Civil Courthouse – New Orleans  



Location:  421 Loyola Avenue / Poydras Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Mathes Birgman & Associates and Goldstein, Parham & Labouisse and August, Perez & Associates

Contractor:  R P Farnsworth Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a four story glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of New Orleans. The entrance on the north side is one story with glass doors and stone facing. The main building has glass windows along the first story and vertical glass windows between stone facing on the east side. The building is connected to the City Hall on the west side. The roof line is flat. In the interior are the Parish District Court – Civil courtrooms and the First City Court courtroom. The building contains eighteen courtrooms.  An addition was constructed in 1984. The architect was Anothony J Gendusa. Jr. and Michael A Piazza and the contractor was Mickey Construction Company, Inc.


History:  The parish was created in 1807 and New Prleans was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was the plantation home of Barthelemi Duverjé which was destroyed by fire in 1895. The second courthouse was a three story red colored brick structure designed and constructed by M A Orlopp Jr in 1892 to 1894 at Common Street and Basin Street where the Public Library now stands. The building was demolished in 1949. In 1896 the Algiers courthouse was constructed across the Mississippi River. The third courthouse constructed in 1908 to 1910 was a three story stone structure designed by Andrew Ten Eck Brown, Frederick W Brown and R Thoronton Marye and the contractor was Ambroise B Stannard of New York. The building now houses the Louisiana Supreme Court and the Fourth Court of Appeal. The fourth courthouse is the present Criminal Courthouse constructed in 1929 to 1930. The fifth courthouse is the Civil Courthouse constructed in 1954 to 1955.


Note:  The lowest point in Louisiana is New Orleans at minus 5 feet ( -1.5 meters ) which is located in the county.


Other Branch Courthouses



Carrollton – Jefferson Parish ( Old Courthouse )


See:  Located in the Parish is the Louisiana Supreme Court and Louisiana Fourth Court of Appeal 



Parish Criminal Courthouse – New Orleans

















Parish Civil Courthouse – New Orleans









Parish District Court – Civil courtroom







Parish District Court – Civil courtroom








Parish District Court – Civil  courtroom







Parish District Court – Cilvil courtroom







Photos taken 2011 and 2019