Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Saint Tammany Parish

Saint Tammany Parish

Saint Tammany Parish is named for Chief Tamanend, who was chief of the Lenni-Lenape nation in the Delaware Valley in Pennsylvania and who played a prominent role in the establishment of peaceful relations with the English settlers.


Surrounding Parish and County Courthouses: 

N – Washington Parish

E – Pearl River County, Mississippi and Hancock County, Mississippi

S – Orleans Parish and Jefferson Parish

W – Tangipahoa Parish


Created:  October 27, 1810                    Map of Louisiana highlighting Saint Tammany Parish

Parish Seat: 

Enon          1810 – 1818

Claiborne   1818 – 1838

Covington  1838 – present


Parish Courthouse – Covington  


Location:  701 North Columbia Street / Jefferson Avenue

Built:  2001 – 2003

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Richard C Lambert Consulting, LLC and Pierce, Goodwin, Alexander & Linville ( PGAL )

Contractor:  Brice Building Company, Inc.


Description:  The building faces northeast and  is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped in the center of Covington. The northeast front has a large recessed porch with two high columns with pediment above. Behind the pediment is a higher peak. There is a large arch on either side. The recessed entrance has a glass wall rising to the third story. The roof line is flat. The interior has a three story atrium with stair cases at either end. There are 12 courtrooms along the atrium on the upper stories. The building is named as the St. Tammany Parish Justice Center.


See:  The architect,  Pierce, Goodwin, Alexander & Linville ( PGAL ) designed courthouses in Florida in Indian River County and in Texas in Collin County, Fort Bend County and Harris County.


Old Parish Courthouse – Covington  



Location:  510 East Boston Street / New Hampshire Street

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  August Perez & Associates

Contractor:  Keller Construction Corporation


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Covington. The south front has a large glass paneled entrance on the first story with mural on the west side. And projecting one story red colored brick section on the east side. The roof line is flat. The building now houses the Emergency Rescue Administration.


Old Parish Courthouse – Claiborne



Location:  19130 Rogers Lane / Tammany Parkway

Built:  1818 – 1819

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Robert Layton

Contractor:  Robert Layton


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored brick and wood frame structure. The building is located on the grounds of a restaurant in the center of Claiborne Hills. The courthouse is a white columned, two-story structure with verandas on the first and second stories. It is made of brick, which is covered with plaster on the inside.


See:  The 22nd Judicial District includes Washington Parish.


Note:  The first courthouse from 1810 to 1818 was a barn owned by Colonel Thomas C Warner to the south of Franklinton along the Bogue Chitto River near the Fussell Cemetery near Enon along highway 16 in Washington Parish before Washington Parish was created. The second courthouse was designed and built by Robert Layton at a cost of $20,000 in Claiborne in 1818. In 1838, the county seat was moved to Covington and the third courthouse was built at Boston Street and New Hampshire Street. The building was demolished in 1884 and the court met in the Town Hall. In 1896 the fourth courthouse was designed by Sully, Buryon & Stone and constructed by D E Kimble in 1886. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1958 to 1959. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 2001 to 2003.


Parish Courthouse – Covington



























Old Parish Courthouse – Covington











Cornerstone 1896 Parish Courthouse



Picture 1896 Parish Courthouse



Old Parish Courthouse – Claiborne Hills



Photos taken 2011, 2017 and 2019